Skip to main content
Engage Onboarding Workflow: Connecting Your Owned Social Connections

A new workflow for the initial setup of your owned social accounts.

Cheyenne V. avatar
Written by Cheyenne V.
Updated yesterday

While workflows for re-connecting your owned social analytics remain the same, the initial setup process has been streamlined.

This article will cover:


Onboarding Workflow Overview

For the initial connection of your owned social accounts, there will be a few different places in your Meltwater account that will trigger your first connection(s) - Meltwater Home Page, Engage Home Page, the Conversations Tab, or the Publish Tab.


Onboarding Your Owned Social Connections

To work through the Onboarding Workflow and connect your owned social connections for the first time, follow these steps:

From the Home Page

  1. Select Connect accounts on the Meltwater Home Page

  2. Navigate to the platform you want to connect

  3. Click Connect

  4. Allow any permissions necessary to connect the account

  5. Select the profile(s) you’d like to add by clicking the check box to the left of the profile name

    1. There may be several profiles under one account. This new workflow will allow you to select multiple profiles at a time rather than connecting one at a time. For X (formerly Twitter) and YouTube, you can only select one at a time.

  6. Click Connect

  7. The new account will appear on the right side of your screen, along with all other connected accounts. The total number of connected accounts will populate the top right-hand corner of your screen in green.

  8. After connecting all of your accounts and profiles, click Next

  9. A pre-populated list of all users in your Meltwater account will load on this page, this is where you will assign permissions to each account and profile you just connected.

  10. Select the account you want to assign permissions to on the left-hand side

  11. Change or assign access to users one by one by selecting the drop-down under Conversations, Publish, and Measure

  12. Select a permission

    1. Full access

    2. View only

    3. No access

  13. To bulk assign permissions

    1. Select the checkboxes to the left of the user name

    2. Click the gear icon

    3. Edit permissions (Note: these permissions will hold true for all users selected)

    4. Click Apply

  14. Once all permissions are granted, click Save in the bottom right-hand corner.

  15. Or select the Save drop-down

  16. Select Save and manage groups to group your accounts. Learn more about Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts

From the Engage Home Page

  1. Select Set up accounts

  2. Navigate to the platform you want to connect

  3. Click Connect

  4. Allow any permissions necessary to connect the account

  5. Select the profile(s) you’d like to add by clicking the check box to the left of the profile name

    1. There may be several profiles under one account. This new workflow will allow you to select up to four profiles at a time rather than connecting one at a time.

  6. Click Connect

  7. The new account will appear on the right-hand side of your screen, along with all other accounts connected

  8. After connecting all of your accounts and profiles, click Next

  9. A pre-populated list of all users in your Meltwater account will load on this page, this is where you will assign permissions to each account and profile you just connected.

  10. Select the account you want to assign permissions to on the left-hand side

  11. Change or assign access to users one by one by selecting the drop-down under Conversations, Publish, and Measure

  12. Select a permission

    1. Full access

    2. View only

    3. No access

  13. To bulk assign permissions

    1. Select the checkboxes to the left of the user name

    2. Click the gear icon

    3. Edit permissions (Note: these permissions will hold true for all users selected)

    4. Click Apply

  14. Once all permissions are granted, click Save in the bottom right-hand corner.

  15. Or select the Save drop-down

  16. Select Save and manage groups to group your accounts. Learn more about Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts

From the Conversation or Publish Tabs

  1. Select Set up accounts

  2. Navigate to the platform you want to connect

  3. Click Connect

  4. Allow any permissions necessary to connect the account

  5. Select the profile(s) you’d like to add by clicking the check box to the left of the profile name

    1. There may be several profiles under one account. This new workflow will allow you to select up to four profiles at a time rather than connecting one at a time.

  6. Click Connect

  7. The new account will appear on the right-hand side of your screen, along with all other accounts connected

  8. After connecting all of your accounts and profiles, click Next

  9. A pre-populated list of all users in your Meltwater account will load on this page, this is where you will assign permissions to each account and profile you just connected.

  10. Select the account you want to assign permissions to on the left-hand side

  11. Change or assign access to users one by one by selecting the drop-down under Conversations, Publish, and Measure

  12. Select a permission

    1. Full access

    2. View only

    3. No access

  13. To bulk assign permissions

    1. Select the checkboxes to the left of the user name

    2. Click the gear icon

    3. Edit permissions (Note: these permissions will hold true for all users selected)

    4. Click Apply

  14. Once all permissions are granted, click Save in the bottom right-hand corner.

  15. Or select the Save drop-down

  16. Select Save and Manage Groups to group your accounts. Learn more about Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts


💡 Tip

Need more help? Feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat or check out our Customer Community.

Find answers and get help from Meltwater Support and Community Experts.


Did this answer your question?