All Collections
Engage - Social Media Management
Account Set Up and Assigning Permissions
Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts in Meltwater (Social Connections: Owned Tab)
Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts in Meltwater (Social Connections: Owned Tab)

Group your Owned Social Connections to streamline workflow in Conversations, Publish, and Measure.

Cheyenne V. avatar
Written by Cheyenne V.
Updated in the last 15 minutes

Rather than selecting Owned Social Accounts one by one in Conversations, Publish, or Measure, organize your connections into groups to create a smoother process for responding to comments, publishing on your accounts, and reporting on your socials.

This article will cover:


Prerequisites

Before creating Groups, you will first need to connect your owned social accounts. Learn more about Connecting Your Owned Social Accounts.

Additionally, you will need admin permissions to create groups in the Social Connections tab. These permissions can be found under Account—> Manage Users. Please contact your account's admin to change permissions.


Grouping Your Owned Social Accounts

To group your owned social accounts, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Account drop-down in the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Select Social Connections

  3. Click Owned Connections at the top of your screen

  4. Select Groups

  5. Click Create Group

  6. Select social accounts you want to include in that group

  7. Give your group a name

  8. Click Next

  9. Select users to add to the group

  10. Click Next

  11. Customize each user's permissions accordingly. You can change permissions for Conversations, Publish, and Measure.

    Note: updating these settings will override existing permissions.

  12. Select Create Group


Editing or Removing a Group

Editing a Group

  1. Click the Account drop-down on the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Social Connections

  3. Select Owned Connections at the top of your screen

  4. Select Groups

  5. Select Edit Group

  6. Make the changes necessary

  7. Click Save

Removing a Group

  1. Click the Account drop-down on the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Social Connections

  3. Select Owned Connections at the top of your screen

  4. Select Groups

  5. Navigate to the group you want to remove

  6. Select the trash bin icon next to the group name

  7. Click Remove


Using Groups in Publish and Conversations

Now that you have created groups in your Owned Social Accounts settings, you can use those groups to save time when publishing or in the conversations tab.

Using Groups in Publish

Follow these steps to use groups when publishing content:

  1. Select the Engage drop-down in the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Publish

  3. Select Create

  4. Click Post

  5. Select Social Accounts

  6. The groups you created will now populate above your individual social accounts. Select the check box next to the group(s) you want to publish to

  7. Click OK

  8. The workflow from here will be the same as it is for publishing on individual social accounts

Note: As seen in the screenshot above, a group will be disabled from publishing if it has more than one TikTok, X, or YouTube account in that group. Additionally, if you have already selected a group that contains one TikTok, X, or YouTube account, the second group selected will be disabled should it also contain a TikTok, X, or YouTube account. This is due to existing limitations when it comes to posting to multiple accounts of TikTok, X, or YouTube.

Using Groups in Conversations

Follow these steps to use groups in Conversations:

  1. Select the Engage drop-down in the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Conversations

  3. Select the accounts toolbar at the top of your screen

  4. The groups you created will now populate above your individual social accounts. Select the check box next to the group(s) you want to focus on

  5. Click OK

  6. Your conversations page will refresh to reflect the accounts in the group(s) selected


💡 Tip

Need more help? Feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat or check out our Customer Community.

Find answers and get help from Meltwater Support and Community Experts.


Did this answer your question?