Welcome to your go-to guide on assigning social media publishing permissions for your users of Meltwater Engage!
By selecting which of your Engage users are permitted to publish and view content to each of your social profiles you can help segment your profiles based on the roles and responsibilities of your team members.
Users who have been assigned to a social profile will be able to see data for that profile within Conversations, Publish and Social Analytics, while others who haven't been assigned will not. For Engage users that were set up prior to April 1, 2021, all Administrator and Viewer users will automatically be assigned to all social profiles.
Administrators will need to go in and remove Viewer users access to social profiles where needed. For Engage accounts and users that were set up after April 1, new Viewer and Administrator users will not be assigned to any social profiles and will see no data in Engage until they have been assigned to profiles.
How to assign a user to a social profile
Confirm that you are set up as an Administrator. If you are set up as a Viewer, reach out to an Administrator on your account to update your user role or complete the next steps.
Learn more about adding, removing and updating users settings within this article here.
Ensure your user has been added to your platform with Manage Users
Navigate to the Owned Connections page
Hover over the social profile you would like to assign and select the three-dot menu. Select Assign Users
Select the users who should have access to this social profile and click OK
Repeat steps 3 and 4 for each social profile.
Only users who have been assigned to the social profiles have the ability to:
be assigned a conversation from that profile to another user
approve a post in Publish from that social profile
Users who have not been assigned to a profile will not be presented as a selection option.
Approvals in Publish
When asking for approval on a post in Publish, only users who have permission to access the chosen profiles can be selected as an Approver.
If a post has been scheduled across multiple profiles, users who haven't been assigned to all profiles will not be able to approve the post and will not appear within the approver selection list. Within Content Calendar, users who have been assigned to at least one of the profiles will be able to view the post with read-only access.
Connecting & Reauthenticating Profiles
Only Administrator users can connect new social profiles and assign users to social profiles. If an Administrator has been assigned to only a subset of connected profiles, they will only see those assigned profiles while in Engage but will see all available profiles when on the Social Connections page. Both Administrator and Viewer users can access the Owned Connections page and re-authenticate social profiles. As a Viewer user, you will only be able to access the social profiles you are assigned to while in Engage.
The emails to reconnect a social connection will be sent to all users assigned to a social profile, regardless of their user role, and all Administrator users, even if they are not assigned to that particular social profile.
Need more help? Feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat or check out our Customer Community.
Find answers and get help from Meltwater Support and Community Experts.