Assigning User Permissions in Engage

Select which of your Engage users are permitted to publish and view content to each of your social profiles

Cheyenne V. avatar
Written by Cheyenne V.
Updated over a week ago

By selecting which of your Engage users are permitted to publish and view content to each of your social profiles you can help segment your profiles based on the roles and responsibilities of your team members.

Users who have been assigned to a social profile will be able to see data for that profile within Conversations, Publish, and Social Analytics, while others who haven't been assigned will not. Users will not be assigned to any social profiles and will see no data in Engage until they have been assigned to profiles.

This article will cover:


Prerequisites

Before assigning Engage permissions to other users, confirm that you are set up as an Administrator. If you are set up as a Viewer, reach out to an Administrator on your account to update your user role or complete the next steps. Learn more about Adding, Removing, and Updating User Settings.

Next, ensure other users are added to your Meltwater account in the Manage Users section.

  1. Click the Account drop-down in the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Manage Users

  3. Select Add User if there is a user not added to the account yet

  4. Navigate to the Engage Permissions section

  5. Select Admin

  6. Click Add user

Lastly, connect your owned social accounts. Learn more about Connecting Your Owned Social Accounts.


Assigning User Permissions

After confirming you are an Admin on the account, you can give or change users’ Engage permissions. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Account drop-down in the left-hand navigation bar

  2. Click Social Connections

  3. Navigate to Owned Connections

  4. Navigate to the connected account you want to add a user to

  5. Click the + sign under Assigned Users

  6. Hover over the user(s) who should have access to this account

  7. Adjust their permissions by clicking the drop-downs

  8. Click Assign


Permission Types

Full Access

  • Available for Conversation, Publish, and Social Analytics

  • This is the highest level of permission and allows users to complete all tasks

  • Posts must be approved by a user with the Approver toggle on (more information below)

Needs Approval

  • Available for Publish only

  • This is the second highest level of permission and allows users to create new posts

  • Posts must be approved by a user with the Approver toggle on (more information below)

View Only

  • Available in Conversation and Publish only

  • Allows users to view and perform most internal actions

  • Does not allow actions that could send posts/engagements to native channels on behalf of the brand

  • User has access to the social connection but unable to take any action

No Access

  • Available in Conversation, Publish and Social Analytics

  • Users with this setting will not see the social connection in the account picker for the product areas they are set to No Access

Approver

  • Available in Publish

  • Approver gives users the ability to approve a draft in Publish

  • Users marked as Approvers will show up in the ‘Assigner’ dropdowns within Publish

  • A user may only have approver status if they are set to Full Access or View Only for Publish

Permissions in Publish

Create Content Changes

If a user has VIEW ONLY permissions to all assigned accounts, that user will not see the ‘create content’ button. They also won’t be able to click on the calendar to create a post.

On step one of the publish flow, only accounts where the user has FULL ACCESS or NEEDS APPROVAL will be available.

Applying Permissions to Post Groups

The assignment level of a post group is based on the lowest level assigned to any account in that message group, barring no access accounts.

Examples:

Approval Flow Changes

If a user is marked as an APPROVER on all accounts in the post group:

  • They are included in the approver dropdown

  • They will see the ‘Approve’ and ‘Reject’ buttons on relevant post groups

For users with NEEDS APPROVAL permissions to a post group, they must assign an approver on the post group. This means these users are unable to ‘Post Now’ as well.

Actions on Post Groups

Users will only be able to perform the following actions on VIEW ONLY post groups:

  • Tag

  • Assign

  • Clone and Edit

Full access and No access: no change.

Permissions in Conversations

Content Stream Changes

The content stream will show content relating to VIEW ONLY accounts with the following changes:

  • A new ‘View Only’ badge has been added to the content card

  • No ability to mark as complete (or New)

  • No ability to hide on FB or IG

  • No ability to ban on FB

  • No ability to send a TW direct message from a reply

Reading Pane Changes

The right pane will show content relating to VIEW ONLY accounts with the following changes:

  • A new ‘View Only’ badge has been added to the parent post-level

  • No ability to comment/reply to the thread or the parent post

  • No ability to like or retweet

  • No ability to mark as complete (or New)

  • No ability to hide on FB or IG

  • No ability to ban on FB

  • No ability to send a TW direct message from a reply

Social User Profiles Modal

The social user profile modals relating to VIEW ONLY accounts will display, but users will not be able to change the Twitter follower status.

Full access and No access: no change


Limitations

  • Account Admins will be allowed to make new connections and change user assignments.

  • Account Viewers will not be able to make new connections or update user assignments.

  • Account Viewers will be allowed to reconnect accounts they have been assigned to with both the View Only and Full Access permissions.


💡 Tip

Need more help? Feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat or check out our Customer Community.

Find answers and get help from Meltwater Support and Community Experts.


Did this answer your question?