Welcome to your go-to guide to removing your social profiles from Meltwater Engage.

There are many reasons why you may need to remove an account from being connected to Meltwater. If it was initially connected by a colleague who is no longer an administrator of your social media accounts or if you simply don't need to manage that account any more it may be time to remove the connection.

This article includes how to:

Has your social profile been disconnected? Learn why this happens and how to reconnect your profiles in this guide here.

Looking to connect a social profile for the first time? Check out our dedicated article on connections here.


What happens when an account is removed?

The removal of social profile means all records of the profile will no longer be found within the system. This includes all reporting, previous post records and the ability to publish new content to that profile. These details are also deleted from the database.

If you may be wanting to connect the same account again in the future, we recommend reconsidering the removal of the profile as all previous engage records will not become visible again.


Remove a social account

Once you've removed a profile you will no longer be able to publish new posts or scheduled posts to this page.

  • Select Account from the left-hand side navigation bar

  • Select Social Connections

  • Select the Private Connections tab at the top of the page

  • Select the three-dot menu on the profile you'd like to disconnect, click remove

Removing a social account will stop all users from being able to interact with that account within Meltwater.

It doesn't revoke the authentication that was granted during the initial account connection which approved Meltwater to access your profile, this needs to be completed on your native social media platform. Please see the steps for each type of connection below.


Revoke Meltwater's access to a social account

Facebook and Instagram Business Profile

  • Log into your Facebook account

  • In the top right corner of Facebook, select the dropdown icon for more options

  • Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings

  • Scroll down on the left and click Business Integrations in the left menu (direct link here)

  • Tick the box next to the Meltwater app

  • Select the Remove button

Twitter

  • Log into Twitter

  • On the lefthand side, select More for a drop-down list and click Settings and privacy

  • Select Security and Account Access

  • Select Apps and Sessions

  • Select Connected Apps (a direct link here)

  • Select Meltwater Social

  • At the bottom of the page, select Revoke access

LinkedIn

  • Log into Linkedin

  • Select Me from the top right and click Settings & Privacy

  • Scroll down to Other applications and click Permitted Services (direct link here)

  • Next to Meltwater Social, select remove


Thank you for reading. If you have any further questions, feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat!

Team Meltwater

Did this answer your question?